Friday, Mar 26, 2010

The Recognition

In this penultimate discussion of the eight essential elements of a romance novel, we’ll explore the Recognition. According to Regis, the Recognition is a scene (or more than one) in which “the author represents the new information that will overcome the barrier” (p. 36). In Pride and Prejudice, for example, the Recognition occurs when Lizzy “recognizes” who Darcy really is, who Wickham really is, and who she herself really is. 

The heroine is the central figure in the recognition scene of the romance novel. It is she who overcomes the barrier. This barrier can be external or internal. Interestingly, as Regis points out, the barrier in contemporary romance novels is often “an interior barrier, in which case the recognition scene consists of the heroine understanding her own psyche better” (p. 17). 

Next time we’ll explore the last of the eight elements: the Betrothal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

One thought on “The Recognition

  1. I’ve found something tragic will often make a character realize their true love.

    In my WIP, Hawk loves Akeela from the very beginning because he has been dreaming of her for years.

    Akeela, however, grows into it.

    Since the focus of my book is not romance, I don’t spend a lot of time there, but I do think adding romance to any adventure only increases the reader’s pleasure and can add some good tension.

    March 27, 2010 at 1:19 PM